new GIS&T Body of Knowledge website

The digital version of the Geographic Information Science & Technology Body of Knowledge (BoK) is now online at!

2017 Symposium in Arlington, Virginia

Key Bridge into Georgetown

Save the dates! The 2017 UCGIS Symposium will be held Tuesday May 23 - Thursday May 25, 2017 in Arlington, Virginia, just across from Georgetown over the Key Bridge.  Our theme is CyberGIS and Diverse Partnerships for Geospatial Workforce Development.  Pre-Symposium workshops will take place on Monday May 22.

Job Postings

Assistant/Associate Professor in... Temple University
Rank Open, Urban Infrastructure... University of California, Berkeley
Director, Geography Program,... University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Cartographic Web/Mobile... University of Oregon
Assistant/Associate Professor in... University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
Database / Visualization Specialist University at Buffalo - SUNY

UCGIS Awards

Serge Rey
2016 Research
Nina Lam
2016 Carolyn
Diana Sinton
2016 Education
2015 Research


Join UCGIS for two webinars this fall. On Wednesday October 26, learn all about the new GIS&T Body of Knowledge program and its digital version, available at UCGIS is coordinating this webinar with Directions Magazine; register here.  ...

UCGIS has published the Geographic Information Science & Technology Body of Knowledge (BoK) in a digital form, now available at  Revisions and additions have begun to be added, including an expanded entry on Location Privacy and a new one on...

The Waldo Tobler GIScience Prize of the Austrian Academy of Sciences (ÖAW) has been created by the ÖAW Commission for GIScience to encourage scientific advancement in the disciplines of Geoinformatics and/or Geographic Information Science.  Full information is available here –

NSF Workshops on Advancing Movement and Mobility Science by Bridging Research on Human Mobility and Animal Movement Ecology
Recent years have witnessed the emergence of interdisciplinary scientific communities focusing on moving objects, motivated by technological advances in location-aware technologies for moving objects data (MOD) collection. In response to these challenges and opportunities, interdisciplinary...